Introduction – Tiara

We were sitting in the audition room, an actually sizable studio for New York, surrounded by girls in bright blue dresses and partial up-dos and/or flashy ponytails. Atypical of many Disney auditions, the girls were all talking to each other and making friends, but that’s because we were thrown a curve ball; the auditionees actually wanted us to sing from the show. “We’ll hear ‘Journey to the Past’ just as many times anyway,” they reasoned. It was like half the room winced. So, as soon as they left the room, girls scrambled to find someone who a) had a song from the show and b) would be kind enough to either run or let someone else run to Walgreens/Duane Reade/Rite Aid/CVS to make copies for the twelve surrounding girls. Once that chaos subsided, I continued to share with my neighbors my sobbier than usual sob story of being on the Megabus at 1:50 a.m. with hopes to arrive at 5:30 a.m. so that for once I could be one of the first fifty on the unofficial sign up list outside of the studio and then chill at the neighboring Starbucks, but my bus arrived early; and while I was number thirty (yes, thirty), Starbucks did not officially open until 5:30 a.m. That day, it opened at 5:45 a.m., so I was alone in NYC in the cold with my giant prepared-for-the-day backpack trying not to look like an easy victim of pretty much anything. Told you it was sobby. Anyway, I’m in the depths of my story, and a mechanic politely breaks us up because the air conditioning unit is leaking. We moved a little so that we could stay close and chat as we were curling and hairspraying, and sparks started to fly out of the unit. I’ve never seen so many girls dive so fast, but, I mean, we were all pretty flammable at that point.

And that’s when my friend Shereen and I thought, why don’t we start a blog?

Let’s be honest; the non-union actress life is way less than glamorous. Not to say that the union life is, but guaranteed organization certainly helps. But honestly, I don’t mind it. I’m young, I’m bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, and I’m pursuing what I love.

Plus, the future grandkids will eat this stuff up.

– Tiara

image

In case anyone didn’t believe me.

Leave a Reply

