Right Outta My Hair

I think natural hair care products are one of the first people look into. Many a magazine has told me that both mineral oil and

sodium laureth sulfate are commonly found in hair care and that the former clogs pores and the latter dries your hair out (stripping out the natural oils and whatnot). As an African American with relaxed hair, this can be extremely detrimental, but it really is not good for anyone’s hair health in my opinion. So for a few years I have been without these ingredients in any of my hair care, but I was spending way too much money on fancy pantsy brands. It wasn’t until I started perusing natural beauty sections of grocery stores that I realized natural shampoos don’t have these ingredients (Usually. Always check for the deceivers.) and are so affordable.

In case anyone was curious, I thought I would throw it out there that I oil treat my hair (fancy way of saying slather on) with unrefined coconut oil for at least ten minutes, usually more, before I shampoo and condition.

Trader Joe’s Tea Trea Tingle Shampoo & Conditioner

I found this shampoo and conditioner set in Trader Joe’s, and as I have mentioned before, I love tea trea oil and thus did not think twice about purchasing. It smells absolutely incredible, and I love the slight tingle you get from the tea tree. The conditioner also made my hair softer than I think it has ever been. What I love the most is that as ridiculously affordable as they were (somewhere around $5 each), the essential oils are the top ingredients, not the natural preservatives. I feel like I am really getting a bang for my buck. The only issue I really have with it is that Trader Joe’s is not necessarily close to me, so it isn’t conveniently accessible for me. Also, it claims to be cruelty free, but I have not seen that particular rabbit logo on any sites that list cruelty free certified logos. Personally, however, I trust Trader Joe’s.

Desert Essence Tea Tree Replenishing Shampoo and Conditioner

I stumbled upon these as I was shopping in Wegmans (obviously you should know by now the tea tree oil me). Maybe it’s just me because I already had read the backs of the bottles, but I really feel like this line was not as tingly because of where the essential oils were on the ingredients list. Tingly or not, they clean and condition sufficiently; they just did not go that extra mile for me. I do not think that I will be purchasing this again, but that does not mean that I do not recommend it. They smell great, though definitely more subtly than the Trader Joe’s brand, and I think if I had less dry hair, this shampoo and conditioner would be absolutely perfect. Also, to my knowledge it is vegetarian, and it has the official Leaping Bunny logo, meaning these products are certified cruelty free.

Leave a Reply

