Green Beauty Empties

 

image

The interesting thing about reviewing products is that once I get halfway or three-quarters of the way through, my opinions could be completely different. I’ve been binging YouTube videos like crazy lately and am starting to find that empty product videos are much more informative and helpful than initial reviews. So here are a few products I have emptied this month.

Bubble & Bee Pit Putty: So when I first reviewed Primal Pit Paste, I think I gave a glowing review a little too quickly. I was pretty distraught that even the light baking soda formula of Primal Pit Paste was leaving me with bad hyper-pigmentation and irritation because it worked so well. After a few days of searching the internet yet again, I found a lot of people who had issues with the baking soda of PPP but needed something stronger than their Happy Pits line (baking soda free) liked the brand Pit Putty. I was super excited that I could order just one sampler, and since my scent of choice, Lavendar Vanilla, was sold out at the time, I picked the only other scent with a floral extract, Jasmint. As a side note, the Jasmine is nearly non-existent, and it is super weird having armpits that smell like Listerine. But I only cared that the deodorant was effective on B.O., which it totally was. So I ordered the full sized Lavender Vanilla (it wasn’t sold out for too long), and I loved that it smelled almost solely of lavender, which was what I liked about the regular strength Lavender Primal Pit Paste but had to give up because the light only came in Lavendar Vanilla. The only con to this deodorant is a pro and a con. The formula is very soft, so there’s no warming it up with your fingers or putting effort to rub it in, which is great. That said, you have to be very careful when you store it because it doesn’t take much for the deodorant to liquefy. Would I buy it again? I’m on like my fifth jar now with no thoughts of stopping. (Also, I recommend keeping these little jars instead of throwing them out or recycling them. They’re great for packing condiments for lunch, like salad dressing.)

Jason Sheer Spray Lotion: This is a purchase I made I think last summer when I had money to spend on things I didn’t need. I had other lotions that I liked, but I wanted something cheap that I could bring backstage and wouldn’t care if all my castmates used it up. Unfortunately, I didn’t even like it enough to bring back stage. If you like super light lotions, this is perfect for you. It was decent for lotioning my legs before putting on jeans, and if my skin was crazy dry it did give me some relief. But I like thick lotions, and that just isn’t going to happen out of a spray bottle. I’m proud of myself for finishing it, but I will not be repurchasing.

Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow, & Restore Leave-In Conditioner: This was the first Shea Moisture hair product I had ever used, and ever since then I’ve pretty much been like

Shut-up-and-take-my-money

Ever since my Disney College Program days, I’d been struggling to get my hair health back on track. It would grow in thick and healthy, but my ends were always split and dead and scraggly. After my third for-your-own-good haircut since 2013, last summer I decided enough was enough; my hair routine clearly needed some changing. This leave-in conditioner has my hair growing like a weed. I don’t know if it is the black castor oil, the peppermint, the protein, the moisture, all of the above. All I know is this is my hair holy grail, and I have already bought another one.

Karen’s Body Beautiful Heavenly Jojoba Hair Oil (and Karen’s Body Beautiful Pomade): So this product I stumbled upon when scoping out the Shea Moisture products in Target. I decided to give it a whirl because I’d been feeling for a while that my Carol’s Daughter Monoi Oil Serum was not actually doing anything for my hair and upon researching via YouTube gurus learned that serums are more cosmetic and oils actually nourish (which for all I know could be a lies. I am not an expert and cannot actually validate that. I just went with it). I very much love this product. It makes my hair feel smooth and healthy, and it is very lightweight for an oil. My Target only carries the scent Pomegranate Guava, but that’s okay because I can’t imagine anything smelling better. I also switched from the Carol’s Daughter hair balm, which my Target seems to no longer be carrying, to the Karen’s Body Beautiful Pomade, also in Pomegranate Guava, to oil my scalp (which doesn’t seem to be a thing among Black hair/beauty YouTubers. Guess I’m old fashioned). I have already repurchased this and will continue in the future.

Pacifica Tuscan Jasmine Lime Perfume: I have mentioned Pacifica perfumes before, and while I am still trying to find my signature scent, it has been fun experimenting. Blood Orange, the first one I purchased, was too sweet; Gardenia was lovely, but not quite what I wanted for every day. The next one I purchased was this Tuscan Jasmine Lime scent, which I believe is one of if  not the newest. Jasmine must not be a potent scent for me, because I cannot smell it in this perfume any more than I could smell it in the Pit Putty deodorant. But I didn’t care because this perfume smelled like limeade. Like all Pacifica scents, it smells super strong initially. However, unlike the first two I purchased, I thought this one faded very quickly, which was so disappointing. I won’t be repurchasing this scent in the perfume, but I may in a different product like the hand lotion. However, I have purchased another Pacifica perfume already.

– T

Leave a Reply

