July Green Beauty Empties

Not too many empties this month, but since most of them were new (or new-ish) to me, I wanted to make a post about them.

Shea Moisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Strengthen, Grow, & Restore Leave-In Conditioner: I mentioned this in my last empties. I still love it, and I purchased another one before I even finished this one.

Shea Moisture Raw Shea Butter Moisture Retention Shampoo: Since getting this I think that I have only used the Trader Joe’s Tea Tree shampoo once. This shampoo is amazing and has completely changed my thoughts on shampoo for my hair. It is non-clarifying, and because it is so moisturizing, my usually dry scalp has balanced out to be mostly normal. I don’t know why I never thought before to use moisturizing shampoos to prevent dryness as opposed to extra clarifying shampoos to deal with the aftermath of dryness, but I am converted. Another product that I bought before I finished this one.

Revive Beauty Balance + Nourish Natural Cleansing Sponge: I used to be a big  loofah and shower gel junkie, but once I started using bar soaps and reducing my plastic usage, I gave up on loofahs (I now use this terry wash bag). I’d heard a lot of good things though in the green beauty community about konjac sponges, so when I saw these at Marshall’s for under $5 I had to try them. Personally, I think wash cloths are sufficient and that this brand’s sponges are way too tiny (about 3″ x 3″), but konjac sponges in general I think are a great solution for those who do not want to give up the lather of a loofah. A huge bonus for the fact that they are compostable.

Pacifica French Lilac Perfume: Until the one I just recently purchased, this was my favorite Pacifica perfume so far. I did not repurchase it because I have been having fun trying out different scents, but French Lilac is absolutely lovely. Very true to scent, light, and feminine, and like all Pacifica perfumes, it is long lasting.

Shea Moisture 100% Pure Monoi Oil: As I stated in my last empties, I’ve in the past used Carol’s Daughter Monoi Oil, which is a pretty penny and also more of a serum, so when I saw this, I could not resist. You do get less in one bottle, but even if you buy two, you are still saving money because of how much more affordable Shea Moisture’s is. This has been incredible on my hair. I used it to seal in my leave in conditioner before putting my hair in flexirods and sitting under the drier, and I swear my hair has never been so soft. I have a couple of hair oils I need to use up, but I still could not resist buying another bottle of this after I ran out because nothing could compare. It also smells great, and I love that it comes in a glass bottle.

Lavanilla The Healthy Deodorant: I’ve had some bad luck with natural deodorants, as many do, so I decided to try this one in a travel size. While Bumble & Bee Pit Putty is still my favorite deodorant, it is not particularly travel friendly in the heat of summer. What drew me to Lavanilla was that it is a stick deodorant without baking soda; it uses corn starch instead. I was pretty impressed that this deodorant smells and feels like a standard one, like Speed Stick and the like. I do find I need to apply more often, so I definitely will be going back to Bumble & Bee, but this is a perfect summer deodorant for me (and I did buy the full size, which will probably last me until fall).

– T

Leave a Reply

