Homemade Non-Dairy Shamrock Shake!

on

Anyone who knows me knows that I am obsessed with all this seasonal and festive, and Shamrock Shakes definitely fall under that. Am I Irish? Not even a little. Do I actively celebrate St. Patrick’s Day? Still no. Do I get excited every March when the Shamrock Shake commercials come on TV? Heck yes.

All that being said, it’s no secret that I should be consuming anything from McDonald’s on a regular basis (or ever, really). The fact that I can only get a Shamrock Shake in a single-use, non-recyclable plastic cup hurts me in the sustainability, and my stomach does not handle dairy milk or ice cream well. So over the years my sister and I have been working on perfecting a much kinder alternative that tastes like the real thing. No, this is not a health food. But sometimes, you just have to live a little ♣ .

IMG_3114

This gorgeous line-up.

IMG_3112

I was very excited to use this India Tree product for the first time. I have been eyeballing it for a while, and it did not disappoint. The ingredients are just glycerin, water, and vegetable juice, and it’s just down-right impressive how pigmented they are!

IMG_3116

If only you all knew how long and how many attempts it took to create the perfect Shamrock Shake green.

IMG_3120

I was super impressed with how they turned out. They taste spot on, and they look so pretty!

Homemade Non-Dairy Shamrock Shake

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups vanilla non-dairy ice cream (I like soy because I think it tastes the most like dairy ice cream, but any will work)
  • 3/4-1 cup non-dairy milk (I recommend using the same base as the ice cream to prevent too many conflicting flavors)
  • 1/2 tsp mint extract
  • green or blue and yellow food coloring
  • Optional: non-dairy whipped topping

Recipe:

Put all of the ingredients except the whipped topping into the blender and blend! If you are combining blue and yellow food coloring to make the green color, I recommend starting off with one drop of yellow and five drops of blue. Too much yellow can make it less Shamrock Shake and more Toxic Avenger. It is easier to put more in later than to take away. The same can be said for the mint extract. It is strong, and I have ruined many a Shamrock Shake over the years by adding too much from the get-go. For non-dairy whipped topping, we only use So Delicious CocoWhip because we tried it and loved it, but my friend from Discovering Dandelions can vouch for Soy Whip as well.

I hope you all enjoyed this recipe and have a wonderful and safe St. Patrick’s Day weekend!

– T

One Comment Add yours

  1. Sarah says:

    hmmm, I’ve never been a fan of shamrock shakes, but I kind of want to give this a try now! (and thanks for the shoutout c:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

